Donate

one-time    regular

Mission & Vision

Our Vision:

Our vision is a world without hardship in which all people can live self-determinedly and with dignity. Access to clean drinking water and adequate sanitation as well as a good education are an important foundation for this.

Our Mission:

We support people in attaining the knowledge, skills and means necessary to bring this vision to fruition.

We enable sufficient and safe water supply, sanitation facilities and context-appropriate hygiene measures (WASH) and improve the living conditions in regions affected by natural disasters, crises and poverty. In doing this, we provide emergency- as well as transitional aid and engage in long-term development cooperation.

We promote good education in Germany and abroad, in order to enable people to take on responsibility for themselves and their environment. The focus of our educational work in Germany is on Global Learning and Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). In our projects abroad, we predominantly support the education of children and young people – usually in connection with the sup-ply of water and sanitation in schools.

Self-image:

arche noVa is a humanitarian organization from Dresden, that has been supporting people in need for over two decades, performed long-term development cooperation and implemented education programs. Founded in 1992 by Sven Seifert and a group of dedicated people that organized a transport of humanitarian aid to Iraqi Kurdistan, today arche noVa focuses mainly on WASH projects, which combine the three components of water, sanitation and hygiene in various contexts. Over 844 million people worldwide lack a safe water supply, and nearly a third of the world’s population lives without adequate sanitary facilities with significant danger for their health and development.

We are committed to ensure that all people receive access to safe and clean drinking water as well as basic sanitation. This has been a recognized Human Right since 2010. Often, we combine WASH with other thematic areas, such as education or livelihoods. For the supported people this means better health, greater food security, new sources of income and the perspective of a self-determined life. arche noVa is mainly active in rural areas, where the access to water and sanitary facilities is especially problematic. Together with local partner organizations and local communities we work in accordance with the principle of helping people to help themselves. Together we develop custom solutions and rely mainly on local building materials as well as appropriate technologies that are easy to maintain. Together with the communities, we create structures of self-determinate administration and thereby strengthen civil society. With accompanying measures for social and economic development of the population, arche noVa contributes to global poverty alleviation.

Humanitarian catastrophes are on the rise worldwide, and their effects are devastating. By treating and distributing safe drinking water and aid supplies, as well as carrying out rehabilitation work while respecting Humanitarian Principles, we assist people in situations of drought, floods, earthquakes or military conflict. With a high degree of commitment and a flexible approach that is adapted to the context, we implement our projects efficiently and transparently and thereby strengthen the resilience of the local population against recurring or ongoing crises.

Apart from basic education and hygiene promotion in the project countries, arche noVa’s education programs include mainly Global Learning and Education for Sustainable Development (BNE). With BNE we intend to encourage people to think and act sustainably in accordance with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). In this context it is necessary to consider how one’s own decisions influence the people of future generations and which effect they may have in other parts of the world, in order to think concretely about how the future could be shaped fairly and sustainably for all.

With Global Learning we address the issue of interactions between countries of the Global North and the Global South. We focus on portraying the various causes of global injustice as well as enforcing the social, economic and political human rights worldwide. The topic of water is an intrinsic part of our education messaging, although it is complemented by other topics.

Our educational program in Germany and abroad is tailored to its target groups and has a participative approach. We place great importance on ensuring that our materials, methods and objectives are up-to-date and we are guided by the realities in the daily lives of our participants.

We consider ourselves part of a worldwide network of civil-society actors. That is why arche noVa actively supports the qualitative development in the fields of WASH and Global Learning/BNE by imparting accreditations and taking an active role in networking.
As an organization, congenial cooperation is very important to us. We consider ourselves a team with a variety of skills that works together to reach common goals. Everyone’s ideas are welcomed and there is room for creativity and individuality. Staff members at HQ and in the satellite offices interact in a respectful manner and at eye-level. The security of our staff is our first priority. Inclusion and diversity are of great concern.

We value transparency, especially in financial matters. Since 1993, arche noVa continuously carries the DZI seal of approval. Annual reports are publicly available.

 

Teilen:

Spenden

einmalig    regelmäßig

Mission & Vision

Unsere Vision:

Unsere Vision ist eine Welt ohne Not, in der Menschen selbstbestimmt und in Würde leben können. Der Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen sowie eine gute Bildung sind für uns wichtige Grundlagen.

Unsere Mission:

Wir unterstützen Menschen darin, Wissen, Fähigkeiten und Mittel zu erlangen, die diese Vision Wirklichkeit werden lassen.

Wir sorgen für ausreichende und sichere Wasserversorgung, sanitäre Anlagen und angepasste Hygienemaßnahmen (WaSH) und verbessern die Lebensbedingungen in Regionen, die von Naturkatastrophen, Krisen und Armut betroffen sind. Damit leisten wir Not- und Übergangshilfe sowie längerfristige Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Wir fördern gute Bildung im In- und Ausland und befähigen Menschen Verantwortung füreinander und ihre Umwelt wahrzunehmen. Im Fokus unserer Bildungsarbeit in Deutschland stehen Globales Lernen und Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE). In den Projektländern unterstützen wir vorrangig Ausbildung für Kinder und Jugendliche – meist in Zusammenhang mit der Wasser- und Sanitärversorgung an Schulen.

Selbstverständnis

arche noVa ist eine humanitäre Organisation aus Dresden, die bereits seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten Menschen in Notsituationen unterstützt, langfristige Entwicklungszusammenarbeit leistet und Bildungsprojekte realisiert. Gegründet 1992 von Sven Seifert und einer Gruppe engagierter Menschen, die einen Hilfsgütertransport nach Irakisch-Kurdistan organisierten, widmet sich arche noVa heute schwerpunktmäßig WASHProjekten, die die drei Komponenten Wasser, Sanitär und Hygiene in unterschiedlichen Kontexten miteinander verbinden. Mehr als 844 Millionen Menschen weltweit fehlt es an einer  sicheren Wasserversorgung und knapp ein Drittel der Weltbevölkerung lebt ohne adäquate Sanitäreinrichtungen mit erheblichen Gefahren für ihre Gesundheit und Entwicklung.

Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass alle Menschen Zugang zu sicherem und sauberem Trinkwasser sowie sanitärer Grundversorgung bekommen. Dies ist seit 2010 ein anerkanntes Menschenrecht. Wir verknüpfen dabei meist WASH mit weiteren Sektoren wie Bildung oder Einkommen. Für die unterstützten Menschen bedeutet dies bessere Gesundheit, größere Ernährungssicherheit, neue Einkommensmöglichkeiten und die Perspektive auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben. Dabei ist arche noVa vor allem in ländlichen Gebieten tätig, in denen der Zugang zu Wasser und Sanitäreinrichtungen besonders problematisch ist. Gemeinsam mit lokalen Partnerorganisationen und der einheimischen Bevölkerung arbeiten wir nach dem Prinzip der Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe. Dabei entwickeln wir gemeinsam individuelle Lösungen und setzen vor allem auf lokale Baumaterialien sowie angepasste und einfach zu wartende Technologien. Mit den Dorfgemeinschaften bauen wir Selbstverwaltungsstrukturen auf und stärken damit gezielt die Zivilgesellschaft. Mit begleitenden Maßnahmen zur sozialen und ökonomischen Entwicklung der Bevölkerung leistet arche noVa einen Beitrag zur globalen Armutsbekämpfung.

Humanitäre Katastrophen nehmen weltweit zu und ihre Folgen sind verheerend. Durch Aufbereitung und Verteilung von sicherem Trinkwasser und Hilfsgütern sowie Wiederaufbaumaßnahmen unter Achtung der Humanitären Prinzipien stehen wir den betroffenen Menschen bei Dürren, Überschwemmungen, Erdbeben oder kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen zur Seite. Mit einem hohen Maß an Engagement sowie flexiblen und dem Kontext angepassten Herangehensweisen setzen wir  unsere Projekte effizient und transparent um und stärken so die Resilienz der lokalen Bevölkerung gegenüber wiederkehrenden und andauernden Krisen.

Die Bildungsarbeit von arche noVa umfasst neben Grundbildung und Hygieneschulungen in den Projektländern vor allem Globales Lernen und Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE). Mit BNE wollen wir im Sinne der Sustainable Developement Goals (SDG) Menschen zu zukunftsfähigem Denken und Handeln ermutigen. Dabei gilt es zu überdenken,  wie die eigenen Entscheidungen Menschen nachfolgender Generationen beeinflussen und welche Wirkung sie in anderen Erdteilen haben, um konkret zu überlegen, wie Zukunft für alle gerecht und nachhaltig gestaltet werden kann.

Beim Globalen Lernen thematisieren wir die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Ländern des Globalen Nordens und des Globalen Südens. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Vermittlung der vielfältigen Ursachen globaler Ungerechtigkeit sowie auf der weltweiten Durchsetzung der sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Menschenrechte. Das Thema Wasser ist für uns auch in der Bildungsarbeit zentral, wird jedoch durch weitere Themen ergänzt.

Unsere Bildungsarbeit im In- und Ausland ist zielgruppengerecht und  beteiligungsorientiert; wir legen Wert auf die Aktualität unserer Materialen, Methoden und Zielsetzungen und orientieren uns an der Alltagswelt der Teilnehmenden.

arche noVa sieht sich als Teil eines weltweiten Netzes von zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren. Daher unterstützen wir aktiv die qualitative Weiterentwicklung der Arbeitsfelder WASH und Globales Lernen/BNE durch Qualifizierung und  aktive Netzwerkarbeit.

Als Organisation ist uns ein kollegiales Miteinander sehr wichtig. Wir verstehen uns als Team, das mit unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen an gemeinsamen Zielen arbeitet. Die Ideen aller sind dabei gefragt und Gestaltungsspielräume für individuelles Agieren vorhanden. Mitarbeitende im In- und Ausland begegnen sich respektvoll und auf Augenhöhe. Die Sicherheit der Mitarbeitenden hat höchste Priorität. Inklusion und Diversität sind uns ein Anliegen.

Auf Transparenz legen wir vor allem in Finanzbelangen größten Wert. arche noVa trägt seit 1993 durchgängig das DZI Spendensiegel. Die jährlichen Geschäftsberichte sind öffentlich einsehbar.

Teilen: