Donate

 
I would like to donate, where it is needed most:
 

The story of Roland Hassel - member of the arche noVa emergency aid team

17. November 2017 - Dresden
In 2017 arche noVa celebrates its 25th birthday. For a quarter of a century we have been committed to humanitarian aid and development cooperation. What's behind it? In the course of the year, we present 25 people whose stories are an example of our work.

Roland Hassel favors clear announcements – especially when they are needed the most. Otherwise he likes to live his life more laid-back. But when it gets serious and help needs to be given under difficult conditions, then he puts his trust in structure. He knows the importance of functioning processes, fast decisions and cooperation from his education for the paramedic’s job. Roland Hassel remains calm even in extreme situations and that’s why he is a big enrichment for the arche noVa emergency aid team, in which he is involved since 2015.

His first contacts to arche noVa happened at the Akkon college in Berlin, where he studied “international emergency- and catastrophe aid”. arche noVa project advisor Andrea Bindel held a presentation there in 2015. What captured Roland Hassel’s attention the most: the further training in the topics of water, sanitary and hygiene offered by arche noVa for experts and trainees in matters of Humanitarian Aid. Two of such trainings the former student attended himself, those who were his introduction to the WASH courses of Humanitarian Aid and the emergency aid team of arche noVa.
Since then he has been working with 16 colleagues at arche noVa. They all are connected by a professional education in a wider sense and the wish to make a use of their knowledge, abilities and talent in the arche noVa emergency aid projects.

Acting out the case of emergency

To guarantee the functioning of the process in a case of emergency the team gets well prepared. Regular meetings and continuous education are conditions for the volunteers to keep working. “It’s a little like a dry run – but it has to be, so we can be totally capable of acting when on-site. We are learning how to build drinking water treatment facilities and how to run them. At the trainings we familiarize with the lab technic and train logistic processes and the behavior in crisis areas”, the young man tells.

Roland Hassel is 31 years old. After his diploma he travelled for a long time and visited New Zealand, South East Asia and Latin America, where he learned Spanish. During these five years he also did his paramedic training and caught up on his high school diploma. A short while ago he finished his studies. “I wrote my bachelor thesis on the topic of high tech-filtration systems for water supply in Humanitarian Aid”, says Roland Hassel. The leader of the arche noVa emergency aid team, Konrad Menzel, who also works as WASH expert at arche noVa, accompanied him as his mentor.

Since many years Roland has been doing honorary work. Besides the emergency aid team he also engages in other organizations. One of the most impressive experiences he had in the past time ranks a project in Ethiopia, where he coordinated the activity of two health posts and again maintained a cool head. This isn’t a contradiction to empathy and humanity in his eyes, but the opposite: Only who is able to keep up a professional distance can act effectively and be a help for others, this is his credo

Spenden

Ich möchte einmalig spenden, wo es am nötigsten ist:

25 Jahre arche noVa - 25 Geschichten Nr. 15 Roland Hassel

26. October 2017 - Dresden
2017 wird arche noVa 25 Jahre alt. Seit einem Vierteljahrhundert setzen wir uns für humanitäre Hilfe und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ein. Was steckt dahinter? Im Laufe des Jahres stellen wir 25 Menschen vor, deren Geschichten exemplarisch für arche noVa stehen. Dieses Mal Roland Hassel vom arche noVa-Nothilfeteam.

Roland Hassel mag klare Ansagen – vor allem dann, wenn es drauf ankommt. Ansonsten geht er das Leben gerne lässig an. Wenn es aber ernst wird und unter schwierigen Bedingungen Hilfe geleistet werden muss, dann setzt er auf Struktur. Er weiß, wie wichtig es ist, dass Abläufe funktionieren, Entscheidungen schnell getroffen werden und alle Hand in Hand arbeiten. Das hat er nicht zuletzt bei seiner Ausbildung zum Rettungssanitäter gelernt. Roland Hassel behält auch in extremen Situationen den Überblick, deshalb ist er eine echte „Bereicherung“ für das arche noVa Nothilfeteam, dem er seit 2015 angehört.

Ersten Kontakt zu arche nova hatte er an der Akkon-Hochschule in Berlin, wo er „Internationale Not- und Katastrophenhilfe“ studierte. arche noVa-Projektreferentin Andrea Bindel hielt 2015 dort einen Vortrag. Was Roland Hassel besonders interessierte: die Weiterbildungen im Bereich Wasser, Sanitär und Hygiene, die arche noVa für Fachleute und Nachwuchskräfte in der Humanitären Hilfe anbietet. Zwei solcher Kurse hat der ehemalige Student inzwischen mitgemacht. Das war auch sein Einstieg in den WASH-Bereich der Humanitären Hilfe und in das Nothilfe-Team bei arche noVa.
Seitdem arbeitet er mit 16 Kolleginnen und Kollegen bei arche noVa zusammen. Sie alle verbindet eine im weitesten Sinne fachliche Ausbildung und der Wunsch, das eigene Wissen, Können und Talent in die arche noVa Nothilfeprojekte einzubringen.

Den Ernstfall durchspielen

Damit das im Ernstfall auch gut funktioniert, wird das Team auf die Einsätze gut vorbereitet. Regelmäßige Treffen und kontinuierliche Aus- und Weiterbildung sind Voraussetzung dafür, dass die Freiwilligen mitarbeiten können. „Das ist ein bisschen wie Trockenübung - muss aber sein, weil wir vor Ort absolut handlungsfähig sein wollen. Wir lernen, wie man Trinkwasseraufbereitungsanlagen aufbaut und bedient, machen uns mit der Labortechnik vertraut, trainieren Logistikabläufe und das Verhalten in Krisengebieten“, berichtet der junge Mann.

Roland Hassel ist 31 Jahre alt. Nach dem Fachabitur ging er auf eine lange „Weltreise“, die ihn nach Neuseeland, Südostasien und Lateinamerika führte. „Dort habe ich Spanisch gelernt“, erzählt er. Außerdem machte er während der insgesamt fünf Jahre umfassenden Auslandsaufenthalte seine Ausbildung zum Rettungssanitäter und holte das allgemeine Abitur nach. Vor kurzem hat er sein Studium abgeschlossen. „Meine Bachelorarbeit habe ich über das Thema Hightech-Filtrationsanlagen zur Wasserversorgung in der Humanitären Hilfe geschrieben“, so Roland Hassel. Als Mentor begleitete ihn dabei der Leiter des arche noVa Nothilfeteams, Konrad Menzel, der bei arche noVa als Fachreferent WASH arbeitet.

Seit vielen Jahren ist Roland immer wieder ehrenamtlich unterwegs. Neben dem Nothilfeteam bei arche noVa ist er noch bei anderen Organisationen engagiert. Zu den eindrücklichsten Erfahrungen, die er in letzter Zeit erlebte, zählt ein Einsatz in Äthiopien, wo er den Betrieb von zwei Gesundheitszentren (im Fachjargon Health Posts) koordinierte. Auch dabei behielt er einen kühlen Kopf. Für Roland ist das kein Widerspruch zu Empathie und Mitmenschlichkeit. Im Gegenteil: Nur wer professionelle Distanz wahren kann, kann effektiv handeln, und für andere da sein, so sein Credo.