Donate

 
I would like to donate, where it is needed most:
 

The story of El Mocthar ag Mohamed - village elder in North Mali

17. November 2017 - Mali
In 2017 arche noVa celebrates its 25th birthday. For a quarter of a century we have been committed to humanitarian aid and development cooperation. What's behind it? In the course of the year, we present 25 people whose stories are an example of our work.

When taking pictures, El Macthar ag Mohamed wants other villagers to be around. This is extremely important to the head of the village of Tedeini in the region of Alafia. He is grateful for every day the villagers of Tedeini are back with him again. That is not natural for him at all and only possible because of the arche noVa project for the reconstruction of Northern Mali’s infrastructure.

2013 Tedeini was under attack of advancing islamist groups. The assault also unleashed the frozen ethnic conflict between Tamachek and Bellah in the village. A massacre occurred, causing victims among soldiers and civilians. Ten people were killed including the little son of the village chief.

The attack left a trail of devastation. The community’s solar panel and the water pump were stolen, fields and cattle feet burned. The 300 survivors saw no more future in Tedeini and fled to a refugee camp in neighboring Burkina Faso.

After the ambush the village elder stayed

The village’s elder El Mocthar ag Mohamed was the only Tamachek who stayed in Tedeini alongside with some Bellah. There he met the team of our local partner organization Nor.Dev in 2014 during the planning of the arche noVa project. Though the rebels were pushed back at this time and the village was safe again, the families still were in the refugee camp in Burkina Faso.

So our team faced a village without population, but also an opportunity for reconstruction. So we decided to rebuild the community’s watering system and to support the families in developing new sources of income, if the village’s elder managed to get his people from Burkina Faso back to Tedeini. Indeed he was able to attain so and the project could begin.

He brought back the people and the arche noVa project gave them a perspective

The heart of agriculture became the new pump installed by arche noVa, which leads the water from the river of Niger onto the cooperatively managed fields. The so-called “perimeter” comprises 30 hectares in total. Two villagers were trained to be mechanics for maintenance and repair of the pump. Our local partner organization also distributed seeds and fertilizer for the first harvest. Since then, wheat, rice and millet are cultivated in Tedeini again, ensuring the livelihood of the villagers.

Meanwhile the population of Tedeini has grown to a number of 570 people, more than before the attack and more than El Macthar ag Mohamed dared to hope. Some of the villagers can be seen in the photo taken at the end of the project in 2017.

Spenden

Ich möchte einmalig spenden, wo es am nötigsten ist:

25 Jahre arche noVa - 25 Geschichten Nr. 14 El Mocthar ag Mohamed

17. October 2017 - Mali
2017 wird arche noVa 25 Jahre alt. Seit einem Vierteljahrhundert setzen wir uns für humanitäre Hilfe und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ein. Was steckt dahinter? Im Laufe des Jahres stellen wir 25 Menschen vor, deren Geschichten exemplarisch für arche noVa stehen. Dieses Mal El Machtar ag Mohamed, Dorfvorsteher in Nordmali.

Beim Fotografieren möchte El Macthar ag Mohamed, dass andere Bewohner des Dorfes mit dabei sind. Das ist für den Dorfvorsteher von Tedeini in der Kommune Alafia extrem wichtig. Jeden Tag ist er dankbar dafür, dass die Dorfbewohner von Tedeine wieder bei ihm sind. Das ist für ihn alles andere als selbstverständlich und wurde nur möglich, weil es das arche noVa-Projekt zum Wiederaufbau von Infrastruktur im Norden Malis gegeben hat.

2013 war Tedeini von vorrückenden islamistischen Gruppen angegriffen worden. Der Angriff entfesselte zudem den ethnischen Konflikt zwischen Tamachek und Bellah, der bereits zuvor im Dorf schwelte. Es kam zu einem Massaker an Soldaten und Bevölkerung. Zehn Menschen wurden getötet, darunter auch der kleine Sohn des Dorfchefs.

Der Angriff hinterließ eine Spur der Zerstörung. Die Solaranlage und die Wasserpumpe der Gemeinde wurden gestohlen, das Tierfutter und die Felder verbrannt. Die rund 300 Überlebenden sahen keine Möglichkeit, ihr Leben im Dorf fortzusetzen und flohen in ein Flüchtlingslager ins benachbarte Burkina Faso.

Der Dorfsteher blieb nach dem Angriff zurück

Der Dorfvorsteher El Mocthar ag Mohamed jedoch blieb als einziger Tamachek mit einigen Bellah in Tedeini zurück. Dort traf ihn das Team unserer lokalen Partnerorganisation Nor.Dev 2014 während der Planungen für das arche noVa-Projekt. Zwar waren zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Rebellen bereits zurückgedrängt und das Dorf wieder sicher, aber die Familien saßen noch immer in dem Flüchtlingslager in Burkina Faso.

Das Team sah ein entvölkertes Dorf aber auch Wiederaufbaumöglichkeiten. So entschlossen wir uns, die Bewässerungswirtschaft der Gemeinde wieder einzurichten und die Familien bei der Erschließung neuer Einkommensquellen zu unterstützen, wenn es dem Dorfvorsteher gelänge, seine Bevölkerung aus Burkina Faso zurück zu holen. Tatsächlich schaffte er das und das Projekt begann.

Er holte die Menschen zurück und das arche noVa-Projekt gab ihnen eine Perspektive

Herzstück der Landwirtschaft wurde die von arche noVa eingerichtete Pumpe, die das Wasser des Niger auf die kooperativ bewirtschafteten Felder lenkt. Das sogenannte Perimeter umfasst insgesamt 30 Hektar. Zwei Dorfbewohner wurden zu Mechanikern ausgebildet, damit sie die Pumpe betreiben und warten können. Unsere lokale Partnerorganisation Nor.Dev verteilte außerdem Saatgut und Dünger für die erste Ernte. Weizen, Hirse und Reis werden seitdem in Tedeini wieder angebaut und sichern den Lebensunterhalt der Dorfbewohner.

Inzwischen ist die Bevölkerung des Dorfs auf 570 Menschen angewachsen, das sind mehr als zuvor und mehr als El Macthar ag Mohamed zu hoffen gewagt hatte. Eine Hand voll von ihnen sieht man auf dem Foto, das zum Projektabschluss 2017 entstand.