Child Shan State
arche noVa

Myanmar (Burma): Health, education, disaster preparedness and self-government in Shan State

Donate

 
I would like to donate, where it is needed most:
 
Since 1948 Myanmar has repeatedly been disrupted by military conflicts. In the region of Shan State in the northern part of the country the armed struggles between the governmental troops and diverse rebel militias have worsened the living conditions of the civil population immensely.
A third of the population is living below the poverty line.

arche noVa is active in Shan State since November 2013, cooperating with our local partner organisation Sopyay Myanmar Development Organisation (SMDO) to support the inhabitance with the reconstruction of the local infrastructure, the implementation of water, sanitary and hygiene measures and expertise in matters of disaster prevention.
Myanmar (Burma)
Simple World Map - Author: Al MacDonald Editor: Fritz Lekschas License: CC BY-SA 3.0 ID: ISO 3166-1 or "_[a-zA-Z]" if an ISO code is not available

Despite the signing of the national peacy treaty in October 2015, fights have regularly broken out in northern Shan State. Due to the armed conflicts between the nation’s military (Tat Ma Daw) and various ethnic armed groups a huge part of the region’s infrastructure has been destroyed. Additionally the conflict has caused massive flight movements, which strain the already crumbling infrastructure in the region even further.

Improving the health situation

Caused by a missing knowledge about hygiene on-site and a lacking and due to the conflict even more destroyed water- and sanitary supply, the risk is huge that water-induced diseases can spread. Solitary and contaminated water sourced as well as missing waste disposal systems in the communities are a severe health risk for the local population.

For improving the situation arche noVa constructs and rehabilitates water systems with our partners. For the maintenance of those water supply systems a special payment system will be introduced. Furthermore, in common work with the members of the community, toilets and hand washing sinks are built. A plan for cleaning and maintenance guarantees that the system can be kept in a good state for a longer time. Additionally each community will be equipped with hygiene articles. Hygiene trainings will be held too, as well as trainings for hygiene commissioners whose task will be to enlighten the people about hygienic acting and to be the contact person even after the project has ended. Also a secure and environmentally fair waste disposal system will add up to better hygiene conditions in the communities. The financing of the measures will be long-term ensured by a founded village development fund.  

 

Rehabilitation of schools

Not only the water and sanitary systems have suffered under the armed struggles, but also schools have been affected by the military fights. arche noVa organises the reconstruction and equips the schools with toilets, water systems, washing possibilities and waste disposal systems. Housing for the teaching staff is going to be constructed and they are going to receive knowledge in hygiene trainings to eventually hand over to their students

Developing structures for self-government

In the communities village development committees will be founded, whose future task will be to represent the interests of the community and to plan and implement smaller projects to improve the basic infrastructure in the village, for example the construction of roads and bridges. The members of the committees will be trained intensely on the topic of project management.

In a specific village development plan worked out commonly, the village’s community will define the first projects and their implementation. A fund financed by small fees of each member of the community guarantees the success of the projects and strengthens the feeling of responsibility for everybody. To improve the situation also in longer terms, the communication between the particular villages and the local authorities has to be consolidated. That is why we promote the interlinking with the official authorities.

Reducing the impact of catastrophes

Myanmar is one of the world’s most endangered countries by natural disasters. In the last ten years the country has been hit by earthquakes, cyclone, floodings and one tsunami. Solely cyclone “Nargis” caused over 130.000 casualties in southern Myanmar in 2008. Prognoses attest the region in the near future worsening living conditions due to the climate change.

To empower the communities’ self-aid capacities and natural resistance in a case of emergency, a communal catastrophe management plan will be developed. Included will be locally defined measures like for example the installation of early-warning mechanisms, evacuation concepts and ways and the lending of information material.The members of the village development committees and the catastrophe preparedness commissioners of each community will be familiarised with the concepts and ideas of disaster prevention in a number of training units.
With the school children we will perform evacuation simulations and awareness-raising measures to sensitise them for the possibilities of securing them and their environments.

To be prepared for the case of emergency, evacuation trainings will be held, community members will be training to be first-aid responders and the cooperation with the local fire fighters will be improved. We are producing learning material in the local languages for schools, communities and public institutions. Additionally we will construct rain water collection tanks on municipal and school level to be able to supply as many families as possible with water in such cases.

To successfully implement the means of arche noVa in Shan State, we are tuning our activities with the local authorities and other organisations working in this area to achieve more together.

With a donation for arche noVa you support our work in Shan and give a perspective for people in need.

Donate for this project

25
Sie helfen, dass Erste-Hilfe-Kurse durchgeführt werden können.
50
Your contribution to the construction of school toilets.
75
Mit dieser Hilfe können Wassersysteme gebaut werden.

Project Overview

Target Group
  • 8,000-10,000 persons from 1,500 households
Objective
  • Improvement of the health situation by a fair and equal access to water, secure sanitary facilities and hygiene knowledge
  • Improvement of the learning environment for pupils by an enhanced access to schools including sanitary facilities
  • Consolidation of the communities by the development of self-government structures
  • Improved capacities in disaster preparedness and catastrophe management empower communities’ resistance and reduce the impacts of natural disasters
Activities
  • Installation of water systems (gravity-flow pipe water supply systems, wells, hand and solar pump systems, water basins)
  • Training of WASH commissioners
  • Construction of household toilets
  • Hygiene trainings and distribution of hygiene articles
  • Establishment of waste incineration places
  • Construction of schools with water access, sanitary facilities and playgrounds
  • Establishment and training of WASH clubs in schools
  • Distribution of chairs, tables and teaching material
  • Development and realization of village development plans for each community
  • Establishment and training of village development committees
  • Support of communities in implementation of small projects
  • Building, training and equipment of catastrophe management committees including first aid trainings
  • Preparation and implementation of disaster prevention plans for specific requirements of each community
  • Preparation of teaching material and catastrophe trainings in communities and schools
  • Construction of rain water collection tanks for an emergency water supply
  • Interlinking of established village structures with the government structures on district level
Budget
1.200.000€
Duration
November 2017 – estimated October 2020
Co-operation partners

SMDO (Sopyay Myanmar Development Organisation)

Donors

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Contact
Portrait Anna-Luise Sonnenberg mit roter Pumpe
Anna-Luise Sonnenberg
Abteilung
Kommunikation
Funktion
Head of Communications
Standort
Dresden
Telefon
+49 351 481984-11
E-Mail

Teilen:

Myanmar - Shan State - Pan Lawt PWS Extension
arche noVa

Myanmar: Gesundheit, Bildung, Katastrophenvorsorge und Selbstverwaltung im Shan State

Spenden

Ich möchte einmalig spenden, wo es am nötigsten ist:
Seit 1948 wird Myanmar immer wieder von militärischen Konflikten erschüttert. In der Region des Shan State im Norden des Landes haben die Kämpfe zwischen den Regierungstruppen und verschiedenen Milizen ethnischer Minderheitsgruppen die Lebensbedingungen der Zivilbevölkerung erheblich beeinträchtigt. Ein Drittel der Menschen lebt unterhalb der Armutsgrenze.

arche noVa ist seit November 2013 gemeinsam mit der lokalen Partnerorganisation Sopyay Myanmar Development Organisation (SMDO) im Shan State aktiv, um die Menschen mit dem Wiederaufbau der lokalen Infrastruktur, der Durchführung von Wasser-, Sanitär und Hygienemaßnahmen und mit Fachwissen zum Katastrophenschutz zu unterstützen.
Myanmar
Simple World Map - Author: Al MacDonald Editor: Fritz Lekschas License: CC BY-SA 3.0 ID: ISO 3166-1 or "_[a-zA-Z]" if an ISO code is not available

Trotz der Unterzeichnung des nationalen Friedensabkommens im Oktober 2015 kommt es immer wieder zu Kämpfen im nördlichen Shan Gebiet. Durch die bewaffneten Auseinandersetzungen zwischen dem Militär des Landes (Tat Ma Daw) und verschiedenen ethnisch bewaffneten Gruppen  ist ein Großteil der Infrastruktur der Region zerstört worden. Zudem hat der Konflikt massive Fluchtbewegungen ausgelöst, die die schon marode Struktur der Gegend noch zusätzlich belasten.

Die Gesundheitssituation verbessern

Bedingt durch ein mangelhaftes Wissen über Hygiene vor Ort, eine unzureichende und durch den Konflikt noch weiter zerstörte Wasser- und Sanitärversorgung, ist das Risiko groß, dass sich wasserindizierte Krankheiten ausbreiten. Abgelegene und verunreinigte Wasserquellen als auch fehlende Müllentsorgungssysteme in den Siedlungen stellen ein großes Gesundheitsrisiko für die Menschen dar.

Um die Situation zu verbessern, konstruiert und rehabilitiert arche noVa mit ihren lokalen Partnern Wassersysteme. Für die Instandhaltung der Wasserversorgungssysteme wird ein eigenes Bezahlsystem eingerichtet. Zudem werden gemeinsam mit den Gemeindemitgliedern Toiletten und Handwaschgelegenheiten errichtet. Ein Putz- und Instandhaltungsplan sorgt dafür, dass die Anlagen lange in einem guten Zustand bleiben. Zusätzlich wird jede Gemeinde mit Hygieneartikeln ausgestattet. Ebenso werden Hygieneschulungen durchgeführt und Hygienebeauftragte ausgebildet, deren Aufgabe es ist, die Menschen über hygienisches Handeln aufzuklären und auch über die Projektdauer hinaus für Fragen bereitzustehen.
Daneben wird ein sicheres und umweltgerechtes Abfallentsorgungssystem zu besseren Hygienebedingungen in den Gemeinden beitragen. Die Finanzierung der Kosten für die Maßnahmen wird langfristig über einen gegründeten Dorfentwicklungsfonds sichergestellt.

Schulen instand setzen

Nicht nur die Wasser- und Sanitäranlagen haben unter den bewaffneten Auseinandersetzungen gelitten, auch Schulen wurden in Mitleidenschaft gezogen. arche noVa kümmert sich um Neubau und stattet die Schulen mit Toiletten, Wassersystemen, Waschgelegenheiten und Abfallentsorgung aus. Für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer werden Unterkünfte errichtet und sie erhalten in Hygieneschulungen Wissen, das sie anschließend an die Kinder weitergeben können.

Strukturen zur Selbstverwaltung aufbauen

In den Gemeinden werden Dorfentwicklungskomitees gegründet, deren zukünftige Aufgabe es ist, die Gemeindeinteressen zu vertreten und Kleinstprojekte zu planen und umzusetzen, die die Basisinfrastruktur im Dorf verbessern, wie beispielsweise der Bau von Wegen und Brücken. Die Mitglieder der Komitees werden intensiv zum Thema Projektmanagement geschult.

In einem spezifischen Dorfentwicklungsplan, der gemeinsam  ausgearbeitet wird, definiert die Dorfgemeinschaft die ersten Projekte und ihre Umsetzung. Ein Dorfentwicklungsfond, in den alle Gemeindemitglieder einzahlen und der die Finanzierung der Projekte unterstützt, stärkt das Verantwortungsgefühl für alle. Um die Situation auch nachhaltig zu verbessern, muss die Kommunikation zwischen den einzelnen Siedlungen und den lokalen Autoritäten gestärkt werden. Zu diesem Zweck treiben wir die Vernetzung mit den offiziellen Stellen voran.

Die Auswirkungen von Katastrophen verringern

Myanmar ist eines der am meisten von Naturkatastrophen bedrohten Länder der Erde. In den letzten zehn Jahren wurde das Land von Erdbeben, Zyklonen, Fluten und einem Tsunami getroffen. Allein Zyklon Nargis forderte 2008 im südlichen Myanmar 130.000 Todesopfer. Prognosen bescheinigen der Region in Zukunft, dass sich durch den Klimawandel die Lebensbedingungen weiter verschärfen werden.

Um die Selbsthilfekapazitäten und Widerstandsfähigkeit der Gemeinden im Katastrophenfall zu stärken wird ein kommunaler Katastrophenmanagementplan entwickelt. Darin festgehalten werden lokal angepasste Maßnahmen wie z.B. die Installation von Frühwarnsystemen, Evakuierungspläne und –wege und die Verteilung von Informationsmaterial. Die Mitglieder der Dorfentwicklungskomitees und die Katastrophenvorsorgebeauftragten jeder Gemeinde werden zudem in mehreren Trainingseinheiten mit den Konzepten und Ansätzen der Katastrophenvorsorge vertraut gemacht.Mit den Schulkindern werden Evakuierungssimulationen und Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen durchgeführt, um sie für die Möglichkeiten sich und sein Umfeld zu schützen zu sensibilisieren.
 

Um für den Notfall gerüstet zu sein, werden Evakuierungsübungen durchgeführt, Gemeindemitglieder zu Ersthelfern ausgebildet und die Zusammenarbeit mit der lokalen Feuerwehr gestärkt. Lehrmaterialen in lokaler Sprache werden für Schulen, Gemeinden und öffentliche Institution produziert. Zudem werden Regenwassersammeltanks auf Gemeinde- und Schulebene errichtet um im Notfall möglichst viele Familien mit Wasser versorgen zu können.
Um die Vorhaben von arche noVa im Shan State erfolgreich umsetzen zu können, stimmen wir uns mit den Autoritäten der Region und anderer im Gebiet agierender Organisationen ab, um gemeinsam mehr bewirken zu können.

Mit einer Spende für arche noVa unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit im Shan und geben den Menschen vor Ort eine Perspektive.

Für dieses Projekt spenden

25
Sie helfen, dass Erste-Hilfe-Kurse durchgeführt werden können.
50
Ihr Beitrag zum Bau von Schultoiletten.
75
Mit dieser Hilfe können Wassersysteme gebaut werden.

Projektsteckbrief

Zielgruppe
  • ca. 8.000-10.000 Personen aus ca. 1.500 Haushalten
Projektziel
  • Verbesserung der Gesundheitssituation durch einen fai-ren und gerechten Zugang zu Wasser, sicheren sanitären Anlagen und Hygienekenntnissen
  • Verbesserung des Lernumfelds für Schülerinnen und Schüler durch einen verbesserten Zugang zu Schulen inkl. der sanitären Anlagen
  • Stärkung der Gemeinden durch den Aufbau aktiver Selbstverwaltungsstrukturen
  • Verbesserte Kapazitäten in der Katastrophenvorsorge als auch im Katastrophenmanagement stärken die Widerstandfähigkeit der Gemeinden und verringern die Auswirkungen von Katastrophen.

 

Aktivitäten
  • Installation von Wassersystemen (Gravity-Flow Pipe Water Supply Systmes, Brunnen, Hand-und Solarpumpanlagen, Wasserbasins)
  • Ausbildung von WASH-Beauftragten
  • Bau von Haushaltslatrinen,
  •  Hygieneschulungen und Verteilung von Hygieneartikeln
  • Einrichtung von Müllverbrennungsplätzen
  • Bau von Schulen mit Wasser und Sanitäranlagen und Spielplätzen
  • Etablierung und Ausbildung von WaSH Klubs in Schulen
  • Verteilung von Stühlen, Tischen und Lehrmaterial
  • Entwicklung und Umsetzung eines Dorfentwicklungsplans für jede Gemeinde
  • Etablierung und Ausbildung von Dorfentwicklungskomitees
  • Unterstützung der Gemeinden in der Umsetzung von Kleinstprojekten
  • Aufbau, Ausbildung und Ausstattung von Katastrophenmanagement Komitees inklusive Erste Hilfeschulungen
  • Erstellung und Umsetzung von Katastrophenvorsorgeplänen für spezifische Anforderungen jeder Gemeinde
  • Erstellung von Lehrmaterialien und Katastrophenschulungen in Gemeinden und Schulen
  • Bau von Regenwassersammeltanks für eine Wassernotversorgung
  • Vernetzung der etablierten Dorfstrukturen mit den Regierungsstrukturen auf Distriktebene

 

Finanzvolumen
1.200.000€
Projektlaufzeit
November 2017 – voraussichtlich Oktober 2020
Kooperationspartner

SMDO (Sopyay Myanmar Development Organisation)

Förderer

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

AnsprechpartnerIn
Portrait Anna-Luise Sonnenberg mit roter Pumpe
Anna-Luise Sonnenberg
Abteilung
Kommunikation
Funktion
Leitung Kommunikation
Standort
Dresden
Telefon
0351 481984-11
E-Mail

Teilen: